The case of the mysteriously appearing Nappies

Regulars to the sorella-hood will know that I recently moved house (- and survived, although this mid-move pic may lead you to believe otherwise):

I find that hiding in a packing box for a while every now and then can help reduce anxiety

I find that hiding in a packing box for a while every now and then can help reduce anxiety

Moving house provides the opportunity for discovery:

  • That earring you lost 2 years ago
  • The spare car key (you blamed your husband for losing) in the pocket of the shorts you wore all summer
  • The receipts you desperately needed for last years tax return

And then there are the discoveries of other things. Things that you had no idea were residing in your house in the first place.

Here’s an example:

  • Three quarters of a pack of boys nappies

nappies

There’s nothing extraordinary about these nappies. They are just your regular run of the mill disposable nappies.

The extraordinary part is that I don’t know where they have come from.

I don’t have children of my own, and I don’t recall buying them in some sort of comatose supermarket shop at midnight. So I’m dumbfounded. I just don’t know how they got into my house, or with whom.

I have been trying to figure out what to do with them. I have no friends who would need them at the moment, but I was also adamant I wasn’t going to throw them out.

And then, with a touch of ‘gee fate can be a bit creepy sometimes’ – this callout was reposted in the sorella Instagram feed yesterday:

Screen Shot 2014-07-23 at 1.43.28 pm

BINGO!!!

The Nappy Collective is an Australian non-profit that provides leftover unused disposable nappies to organisations that support families in need. The collection runs over 2 weeks in February, July, and October.

What a brilliant community initiative! (+ that’s not even mentioning the environmental benefits with the reduced waste of unused nappies going into landfill!)

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/99726525″>The Nappy Collective</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user29713346″>The Nappy Collective</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a>.</p>

There are 80 collection points nationally so if you are like me and holding on to nappies with no home, get along to your closest drop off point (click the link and scroll to the bottom of the page).

Want to get a little more involved? You can nominate your home or workplace to be a drop off point for the next collection in October – register here, or you can also volunteer your time to help sort donations.

Finally – If you suspect you are the owner of my mysteriously appearing nappies

  1. who are you?!
  2. please forgive me for giving them away!

 x anna

 

Share your thoughts!

