The thing we all have to do in life now and then (that makes me want to hide in a cardboard box with a bottle of wine, rock back and forth and pretend it isn’t happening)

So I’m facing something this fortnight that is in my top 5 of life’s most painful must-dos.  Others seem to manage it quite well. Some even live to tell the tale while facing it in a foreign country while 9 months pregnant and a toddler in tow.

But no, not me.

I’m a weakling. This thing takes so much thought, effort, and quite often – pain.

It can rattle me to my core of vulnerability. I lie awake at night with questions:

“How am I going to make this work? How the bloody hell am I going to get though this?”

In the past when a friend informs me that they are facing this life change, I cringe. My stomach drops.

I want to back away slowly, while offering the usual pitiful condolences that are called for in times like these – pitiful because really, there is nothing to say to help ease the pain:

“What a terrible thing to have to face when life was rolling on so well, and you were so comfy. Good luck my dear friend. See you on the other side”…

I sometimes take around a ready-made meal or two. God knows they’ll be needing it.

I sometimes also offer a spare pair of hands. But only if they are a really really close friend.

If they aren’t – they will not see me. They will not hear from me. I will wait a good few weeks just to make sure they are through the thick of it and ready to get back into life.

And I wouldn’t expect any of my friends to stick around either. No friend should have to help carry this burden.

Or my fridge.

Wish me luck my dear sorellas.

It’s moving house day.

empty box 2 box 2

I find that hiding in a packing box for a while every now and then can help reduce anxiety

I find that hiding in a packing box for a while now and then can help reduce anxiety.

What are your tips for surviving moving house?

~ anna

P.S Renting’s a bitch.

 

4 thoughts on “The thing we all have to do in life now and then (that makes me want to hide in a cardboard box with a bottle of wine, rock back and forth and pretend it isn’t happening)

  1. Hoo boy! Moving is difficult–we are in the middle of it ourselves. But it has been a great opportunity for us to try to purge as much of what we can. I can’t tell you how many dozens of bags of clothes and boxes of books and sundry (don’t you love that word?) have left the house and made their way to charities. Still, it seems like we have so much stuff….

    • Hey Mark. I know. Stuff. We all have too much of it.
      I can’t believe how little I needed in my early 20’s and somehow the older you get the more ‘stuff’ you feel like you “need”! Uuughhh! Good luck with your move and your purging (it’s cathartic yes?!).

Share your thoughts!

