This isn’t another Melbourne Cup fashion report

Melbourne Cup Fever. I have it. But not in the way you’d expect.

Fashion I love. But a talent for race day appropriate frocks and fascinators – I do not.

Race day to me is (shockingly) about the horses. The track report, the barrier draw, the recent form. Like a nerd who lines up at the Apple store to get the latest iphone the night before it’s released, I love the lead up to the final field sections, the pre-cup predictions, the race day form guide, and of course the actions that follow – taking a punt.

I’d rather spend my money on the horses on race day than a weapon for my head

For our non-Aussie readers, today is Melbourne Cup. It’s arguably the biggest day in Australian Sport for the year. Horse race lover or not, everyone finds some sort of excuse to either not go to work, or to do everything but work if forced to go to work. This includes stopping for a few hours (yes hours) to organise the office sweep, eat chicken sandwiches, and then gather around the TV to watch the big race. Lucky for me I’m now living in Melbourne so it’s an official public holiday for us (but I promise to still get all of your sorella & me orders out today!!).

I don’t want to gloat, but I have a knack for backing the Melbourne Cup winner. I have somehow managed to select the winner of 3 of the last 4 races. No mean feat with usually 24 starters and such a varied class of horses – it’s like choosing an affordable hat to work with your races frock – near impossible.

But to be honest, I’m not really sure how I’ve done it. I’m not even really sure where my interest in racing comes from.

Sounds cheesy but it could have something to to with it being in my blood? My Mum’s parents were keen horse racing aficionados owning a reasonably successful thoroughbred called Honey Behold. My Dad’s father was a keen greyhound trainer – not horses – but the thrill of racing all the same. And my great uncle was also a harness horse racing trainer.

Regardless of the cause of my luck, today I will try and make it win no 4 from 5.

2011 Melbourne Cup winner Dunaden – can he do it again?

And I suppose you are wanting my tips? Only fair… Just be reminded that I only have a 1 in 24 chance of getting this right!

Well, it’s still a little early for me to make my final decision (like a true racing nerd…): there’s still morning weather to consider – rain will change the track condition and suit certain horses at the last minute. But at this point, I’m going to put something small each way on my beloved Dunaden even though he is carrying the largest weight of the field – a huge 59kg. He has made me some significant coin in the past so it would be remiss of me not to back him – I would literally kick myself if I didn’t. But I would actually like to see something new take it today – I like Mt Athos (if it doesn’t rain), and roughie Mourayon. I’m thinking of putting down a boxed first four (which is across the line in any order) of Dunaden, Mt Athos, Mourayon, with 4th spot still up for grabs – maybe Americain.

Do you get into Cup Day? What are your plans (and your tips!)

~ anna

2 thoughts on “This isn’t another Melbourne Cup fashion report

  1. Pingback: Melbourne Cup: Crown Oaks Day « One Eyebrow Raised

Share your thoughts!

