While anna is on holidays….

As one half of the sorella & me team (i.e., anna) is enjoying her recent engagement while on holidays in USA & Mexico (and no doubt plenty of margaritas to match), we thought we’d be nice and give her the week off blogging and instead re-blog her most popular post in 2012 in case you have missed it – “10 things to make you feel old, but also make you laugh”.

But first, a couple of photos from anna overlooking some ridiculously beautiful Mexican beach – we take it the beach-bar in the foreground of the first photo is the source of said margaritas….

Mezzanine Hotel, Tulum Mexico

_______________________________________________________________________

“10 things to make you feel old, but also make you laugh”

I was recently at a family event and I met up with lots of relatives I hadn’t seen for some time.  While I was politely told I didn’t look a day older than the last time they saw me, when they asked how old I now was I weirdly stumbled with the answer.

I had a birthday 2 months ago but I was struggling to remember whether I just turned 33 or was I still 32!  I stuck with the later but on overhearing my conversation, my younger sister eagerly pointed out this was actually incorrect (damn little sisters).

And so, over my Nana’s caramel slice and a cup of tea (the cakes are always a good reason to attend family events), I had a bit of a ‘moment’.

I don’t feel 33, or rather, I don’t feel what I expected 33 would be (note ‘expected’ was developed from a very brief conversation with my high school girlfriends about what our ideal future self would be like including key events and matching deadlines.  All the usual suspects – marriage, babies, etc. This lasted about 2 minutes before we reverted to our original conversation of how the boys in the year level above us were so much hotter than the boys in our year, and this simply wasn’t fair).

It seems that my life has evolved with a relaxed approach to said ‘expected’ deadlines. But the thing is, I wouldn’t have it any other way. How then would have I traveled so much, met so many beautiful people, and still feel that buzz of excitement of what is next around the corner.

And so, on the drive home from the family get-together, I thought about my age (confirmed as 33 via my driver’s licence), and not what this ‘should’ mean, but what it actually does mean for me… And mostly, it just made me laugh.

10 things that make me feel old (but also make me laugh)

1. I am no longer eligible for the Miss Universe comp (in fact, it’s been 6 years since I was).

2. This song is 22 years old

3. Charlene Robinson Kylie turns 45 next year

4. My friend’s kid tells me they never knew you could open a car with a key – not a button.

5. The woman who married the guy that’s second in line to the British throne is younger than me and to rub it in, she will become ‘Queen Consort’ (or just good old Queen for short). Feel inadequate much?

Not only does she get to be Queen, she also gets to wear awesome hats. Photo credit: Reuters

6. I’ve gone up a whole new age bracket for filling out forms.  I no longer sit so easily in the 25-30’s box.  I’m now in with the ‘facing 40’s’ gang.

7. The kids on Dawson’s Creek are the same age as me but look the same age as they did in Dawson’s Creek

How did a kid get a whole creek named after him? Photo credit: Sony Pictures

8. My friend’s daughter is just 2 years from being able to legally have sex (she is probably feeling worse about this than what I am).

9. Courtney Cox was on a re-run episode of Family Ties the other day, she was 22 and it was 1987.

Courtney Cox

I wanted to be Alex P. Keaton’s girlfriend too.

10. My personal ultimate pain: I will probably now be called ‘Madam’ when visiting Paris, not ‘Mademoiselle’. And there is nothing very Parisian Chic about that.

anna x

What makes you feel a little old, but also makes you laugh?

One thought on “While anna is on holidays….

  1. Pingback: Holiday-induced shopping: The credit-card coma. The regrets. The unworn souvenirs. | the sorella-hood

Share your thoughts!

