Baby Prams. Why we need them. But why we really really hate them.

It’s a common cry heard in car parks across the world.  New parents shriek in pain and frustration at their state of the art, bullet-proof, environmentally friendly, in-vogue pram.

“Why can’t it just fold up easily like the guy showed me at the Pregnancy Expo?”

“Where the hell is that button he pressed to get the canopy-thingy off?!”

“Which of the 3000 fancy compartments did I put the babies drink bottle in? I know it’s here somewhere…..

“Why did I opt for the fashionable cream colour?  Didn’t I know it would get dried biscuit all over it?”

“This bloody thing! If it had 4 doors it would be considered a vehicle and I’d need a licence to drive it.”

It seems we have come a long way in Pram technology – so much so, it’s often too hard to use them. But have you seen the one that can fold down (and back up!) automatically with a press of a button? (Check it out here if you don’t believe me). I need to get me one of these. I wonder if it can lift itself out of the car too?  I wonder if it can also produce me a coffee so I don’t have to maneuver my way into a café – which I basically always avoid because has anyone else noticed that café’s never seem to be built around the caffeine needs of mums with prams?

Looking back at the beautiful prams of old – They are so gorgeous but imagine trying to get one of these into the boot of your car:

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/8x9HVBTE0s0&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Ok. I promise not to curse at you again fancy modern, can-go-jogging-if-i-actually-really-wanted-to-but-never-do pram. You win!

~ alisha

Do you have a love-hate relationship with your pram?

2 thoughts on “Baby Prams. Why we need them. But why we really really hate them.

  1. My pram choice was solely based on weight and ability to fold easily. We live on the first floor in an apartment so it was really important that it wasn’t a three piece pram that weighed a tonne. I hate plugging products but the Baby Jogger City Mini is my perfect pram…almost, practicalities aside it’s not the prettiest pram and I do find myself longingly staring after pretty prams that pass me in the street, so I must admit I get some satisfaction watching the owners of these prams struggling to fold them and fit them in their carboots 🙂

    • Ah yes, the old practicality versus fashion- great if you can try to tick off a bit of both! I must admit I do favour the cheap and small stroller now and then for convenience – my little boy doesn’t look as comfy, and it certainly is quite ugly, but it’s so much easier getting it in and out of the car! Thanks for stopping by! ~ alisha

Share your thoughts!

